What performance information do other users receive?
The level of access of recipient of performance monitoring information depends on the permission level granted by the user sharing the data. Currently, there are two permission levels available:
- The recipient has read access to all data represented by the monitoring service
- In addition to the read access granted by the Read-Only permission, the user will also have the ability to change settings, alert contacts, and administer the monitoring service as if it is their own.
Read-Only Data Access
When a performance monitoring service is shared with another user using the Read-Only permission level, the recipient of the shared service will have access to the following data:
- The recipient will be able to view the service as part of the dashboard, with a note indicating the user that has shared the service to them
- The recipient will have access to all data represented by the monitoring service, including:
- Running graphs for the shared service
- Viewing logs for the shared service
- Read access to all other tabs of the service, including the Settings, Diagnose, and Widget tabs.
- This includes the ability to view alert contacts
- The user will not be able to modify any settings. All functionality that is related to the modification of settings will be disabled and the following message will be displayed to alert the user that the service has been shared with a Read-Only permission:
Read-Write Data Access
When a performance monitoring service is shared with another user using the Read-Write permission level, the recipient of the shared service will have access to the following:
- The same ability to view all of the performance monitoring data that a Read-Only permission level allows
- In addition, the ability to comment out log entries, modify monitoring settings, update alert contacts, and perform all of the same administrative tasks that a user who owns the service is allowed to perform.